Would you?

Do you happen to follow this blog?  http://mylifeafterloss.blogspot.com/2011/10/steady-rock.html  It is a mom who has repeatedly experienced IC (incompetent cervix), PPROM (premature rupture of membranes) and infant loss, along with delivering her twins very, very early.

I find it interesting – even though I don’t share her beliefs, I can respect her for following what she so strongly believes.   And the way she shares her beliefs is so non-judgemental, I think it is refreshing.

Anyway, I found her current post about TAC (transabdominal cerclage) interesting.   It made me ask myself – if I knew that I could very likely have TAC and prevent IC/bedrest/PPROM, would I want to be pregnant again?   That is, assuming we decided we wanted another child?  I honestly don’t know the answer to this.

I’m not sure if the question came to mind because a TAC was something I didn’t fully explore before deciding NO MORE TTC?   I think any pregnancy (and I mean any at all – myself or a surrogate) was more scary than I could even contemplate at that stage of grief and trauma recovery when we made the decision to move forward with adoption.

Now, although I do find that as time passes it is somewhat easier to watch pregnancies/delivery stories on TV, I still come very near breaking out in a cold sweat when I see or even read about a delivery because of the trauma I still feel from my twin pregnancy, bedrest, and emergency c-section delivery.   So NOT what delivery is supposed to be like.

So, I’m curious, for those of you whose doctors recommended “no more pregnancies” due to IC or PPROM – if you could safely have a TAC and be – let’s say 90% assured of not experiencing IC, bedrest or PPROM, would you want to try again?   Or does the whole concept of reliving that trauma or fear of everything that can go wrong in pregnancy too much to contemplate, so that the thought of a pregnancy is no longer even desirable?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Would you?

  1. Nell says:

    While I have not been down the same painful path that you have, I do believe that I might check into the procedure and weigh out the pros and the cons of it. If it gave me the option of a healthy pregnancy and baby, it would be very hard for me to turn aside from it.

  2. Joanie Shook , Scio, Oregon says:

    I ditto what Nell said. I would want to put my head on the pillow at night and say I tried everything…but, Sue, I have not even come close to experiencing what you have, so it is really hard for me to say…be still and listen. You’ll know.

  3. patty says:

    I had mine done by Dr Davis in New Jersey after finding out my cervix was damaged from a fibroid removal years ago. I lost my daughter to pPROM in ’09 but didn’t know how damaged my cervix was….that’s another long story of pain and guilt. THe only challenge I keep reading about is some women struggling to get pregnant naturally after the TAC. That was NOT an issue for me since I always needed an IUI anyways. My body responded differently to meds during the IUI after the TAC though…. so it took about 3 cycles. Maybe it will bring you hope especially if you have been doing IVF or IUI; the TAC will hold up a singleton or multiples. I am hoping this TAC will prevent pPROM from happening again if it truly was IC related. I’m only at 16 weeks right now…. please let me know any info I can send you about TAC.

    • danielle says:

      congrats patty, i am meeting w/ dr. davis for a consult in a few wks.. did you get you tac pre-pregnancy ? how long was the recovery time ? thank you…

Leave a Reply

